Jesus + Nothing = Everything

515XKn41ZCLIf you are anything like me, you may cringe just a bit when you read that line in Revelation that condemns the church for losing their 1st love. I cringe because I have seen and be aware in my own life of the sin of people pleasing and idolatry. I have added requirements to my faith that were not supposed to be there and have placed people on par with Jesus at times as well. That is why it was so great to get Pastor Tullian’s new book on what the Gospel really is.

My biggest takeaway from this book has been to see where in my life I am harboring idols. They were the usual crowd like greed or lust, but the more subtle such as intellectualism. Sweeping these bad boys out was not fun but it is necessary. Jesus+Nothing=Everything is a great book that helps you examine the parts of your life that are not Gospel centered. More than that it helps you see how to get back to that center and keep your eyes focused on Christ.

A unique feature of the book is the ability to interact with the author online through Crossway’s book summary’s that Pastor Tullian recorded. If you are looking for a great read on what the Gospel in real life means, than get this book, read it and then go live it out.

Leave a Reply

